GECA News and Events
  • GECA Proudly Joins the Living Future Institute of Australia’s Technical Working Group

    GECA joins the Living Future Institute's Technical Working Group
    21 Dec 2020 5:03 pm

    Earlier this month, the Living Future Institute of Australia (LFIA) announced the appointment of its first industry-lead Technical Working Group (TWG) after a public call for expressions of interest. Our Standards & Technical Officer, Deepali Ghadge, is one of the 18 appointed members of the TWG, representing experts from a broad range of industries, organisations and experiences.

    The Living Building Challenge and associated programs are developed and administered from the International Living Future Institute (ILFI) in Seattle, USA. As a result, work is required to adapt the standard and associated programs to the local context. This includes providing advice regarding crosswalks with other Australian certifications.

    “I was delighted to see the high calibre of submissions for the TWG EOI, demonstrating the breadth of interest in regenerative design as well as ambition to be on the leading edge of construction in Australia. I’m looking forward to working with this talented group of people to grow the number of Living Building Challenge projects in our region during this critical decade,” said Laura Hamilton-O’Hara, LFIA CEO.

    GECA, Australia’s only member of the Global Ecolabelling Network, is excited to participate in this program and provide our expertise, particularly in a materials and energy context.

    “I believe the in-depth knowledge gained during the development of our ecolabel standards, and our Life Cycle Assessment expertise will be beneficial for the TWG,” said Deepali.

    “I’m looking forward to working with LFIA and the entire TWG to learn more about the latest industry trends and promote living buildings.”

    The founding TWG members include:

    ⚫️ Katie Fallowfield (Chair) – WSP

    ⚫️ Haris Moraitis (Co-Vice Chair) – LFIA Board and HKA

    ⚫️ Louise Norton (Co-Vice Chair) – LFIA Board Touchstone Partners

    ⚫️ Andrew Ling – Positive Change Buildings

    ⚫️ Andrew Scerri – Lendlease

    ⚫️ Clare Parry – Hip V. Hype

    ⚫️ Damon Cuming – WRAP Engineering

    ⚫️ Deepali Ghadge – GECA

    ⚫️ Fiona Caulfield – Tricia Love Consultants

    ⚫️ Guy Williams – The Biodiversity Consultancy

    ⚫️ Jonas Bengtsson – Edge Environment

    ⚫️ Jovana Klikovac – Viridis

    ⚫️ Lachlan Finn – Atelier Ten

    ⚫️ Laura Guccione – BlueScope

    ⚫️ Nicola Smith – LFIA

    ⚫️ Rory Martin – Frasers Property Australia

    ⚫️ Samantha McGavock – Done

    ⚫️ Simone Delaney – Vicinity Centres

Join Our Newsletter