GECA News and Events
  • Enter the 33rd National Banksia Sustainability Awards

    13 Oct 2021 4:12 pm

    Submissions for Australia’s most prestigious national sustainability awards are now open. The Banksia Sustainability Awards have been inspiring excellence in sustainability for 33 years, making them the longest-running awards of this kind in the world.

    In 2021, the Awards are again aligned with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the global blueprint for achieving a better and more sustainable future for all. At GECA, we’re proud to support the Banksia Sustainability Awards because we share their aims of using the SDGs as a framework to unite world businesses, governments and citizens to end extreme poverty, fight inequality and protect the planet.

    “Work in sustainable development across Australia has continued despite COVID-19, and we are proud to celebrate the people and organisations that have maintained this vital work through this challenging time,” says Banksia Foundation CEO Graz van Egmond.

    “It’s a real credit to individuals, businesses and government departments who have worked through the challenges and been able to seize the opportunity to think about how we can do things differently. They’ve shown great resilience and optimism so the new normal – whatever that looks like – can be more sustainable and fairer for all.”

    To ensure the Awards remain relevant in the fast-changing world, the Banksia Foundation has introduced three types of award categories this year:

    • Themed categories for entrants representing specific sustainability projects

    • Sector categories that encourage entries from all types of organisations

    • Categories for special interest groups

    “By adapting our category offerings, we are broadening our reach to cater to a larger pool of potential entrants. We’re making it easier and more convenient for people to select the appropriate category to enter,” says Ms van Egmond.

    The winners of each category vie for the ultimate Banksia Gold Award that recognises ‘the best of the best’. This award celebrates leaders who are pioneering new ideas and actions which challenge the status quo within the Australian community.

    Entries for the 2021 Awards will close on 24 November 2021 at 5pm, with the winners announced at an awards ceremony in March 2022. We encourage all GECA licensees to showcase their leadership and innovation by entering the awards. Click here to enter.

    Banksia Awards 2021

Join Our Newsletter