GECA News and Events
  • Announcing the Green Gown Award Australasia Winners for 2021

    Announcing the Green Gown Award Australasia Winners for 2021
    15 Dec 2021 1:07 pm

    The Green Gown Awards Australasia Awards Ceremony celebrated the inspirational projects, initiatives and individual champions represented by 33 finalists across 11 unique institutions this year. GECA is a proud supporter of this event. 

    The Australasian Campuses Towards Sustainability (ACTS) Board Directors hosted the ceremony, recognising 11 winners and eight highly commended awards across ten categories.

    The University of Tasmania (UTAS) took out the top award. It was declared Sustainability Institution of the Year, recognising their sustained and holistic effort to improve social responsibility and environmental performance.

    “Recognition through the Green Gown Awards Australasia for our collective efforts towards a holistic approach to sustainability at the University of Tasmania is a tremendous honour,” said UTAS Vice-Chancellor Professor Rufus Black.

    UTAS was also the recipient of the Student Engagement award for their ‘Sustainability Integration Program for Students (SIPS)’ program, as a best-practice example of place-based student engagement and sustainability education.

    RMIT University and the University of Technology Sydney (UTS) also walked away with double wins this year. RMIT has demonstrated strong sector leadership to address the climate crisis, evidenced by its success in the Climate Action and Leading the Circular Economy categories. Our Head of Engagement & Marketing, Paula Clasby, was honoured to be a judge for the Leading The Circular Economy award category.

    Leading the Circular Economy Winner - RMIT University

    UTS won the popular Creating Impact award with their world-first plastic-free food court and the Next Generation Leadership and Skills award for creating a degree like no other: industry innovation project in the Bachelor of Creative Intelligence & Innovation.

    Congratulations to all of the winners, highly commended entries, and finalists recognised this year!

Join Our Newsletter